Articles Tagged with “family leave”

Published on:

Thumbnail image for Thumbnail image for baby.jpgBoth state and federal laws govern family leave in New Jersey. The Federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and New Jersey Family Leave Act (FLA) have long provided 12 weeks of unpaid family leave for employees of employers with at least 50 employees. In 2008, New Jersey passed the New Jersey Paid Family Leave Act.

The Paid Family Leave Act mandates six weeks of paid family leave to care for a newborn or newly-adopted child, or to care for a family member with a serious health condition.

Eligible employees receive two-thirds of their salary (up to $524 per week). The benefits are paid by the State and funded by a tax from all employees’ paychecks; employers do not incur any direct costs.
Continue reading

Contact Information