Please note that, in light of Governor Murphy's recent "stay at home" order in New Jersey due to the COVID-19 pandemic, McLaughlin & Nardi, LLC's attorneys and staff are working remotely at this time. However, we are still ready, willing, and able to address all of your individual and business legal needs. Please contact us by phone at (973) 890-0004 or email at info@esqnj.com. We are committed to providing the same high level of legal services that our clients have come to expect over the years. Thank you.

Articles Tagged with “Minimum Wage”

Published on:

workers.jpg

The Fair Labor Standards Act (“FLSA”) is a federal law that governs employment in all private employers and most government employers in all fifty states. In New Jersey, this federal law works in conjunction with the New Jersey Wage and Hour Law. These laws set forth requirements for minimum wages, overtime, pay, maintenance of employee records, and other work-related issues.

In New Jersey, the minimum wage in 2013 was set at $7.25 per hour (the federal minimum for wages). In 2014 that minimum wage in New Jersey will be increased to $8.25 per hour. Therefore, the minimum overtime payment for 2013 is $10.88 per hour and for 2014, it will be $12.38 per hour for hours worked in excess of forty hours per week.

If an employer violates the FLSA, the injured employee may bring an action against the employer for unpaid wages, and may also recover her attorneys fees and legal costs associated with bringing the action. If a court finds that the violation was willful, the employer may have to pay the employee double the wages that the employer wrongfully withheld.
Continue reading

Published on:

time-is-money.jpg
The minimum wage in New Jersey is $7.25 per hour. New Jersey law requires that all “non-exempt” private sector employees must receive “overtime” pay – one and a half times their normal hourly rate – for all time worked in any given week in excess of forty hours.

While New Jersey, like all states, has the option of providing a higher minimum wage, New Jersey’s current minimum only just meets the federal requirement of a $7.25 per hour minimum wage, which went into effect July 24, 2009.

Exempt employees are those who work in executive, administrative, or professional capacities. In any of these categories, the employee must made at least $455 per week to be exempt from overtime requirements.
Continue reading

Contact Information